An Open Letter to the Lost Sheep


God has not forgotten about you; have you forgotten about Him?

Countless are the believers who have left the church disillusioned, disgusted and dissatisfied with their experiences. I know from personal experience how one’s faith can be shaken when what we see and experience in the church does not align with the truths we believe.

As God began opening my eyes to the deception and corruption that was present in the last place I called a church home, it was very difficult to endure the paradigm shift I was undergoing. As I began to see the hypocrisy and realized the level of dishonesty taking place within the inner circles of that particular church’s leadership, it became very difficult to stomach the thought of even attending a service. This problem is widespread. Many are leaving the faith altogether, not able to separate God’s truth and character from the hypocrisy of those claiming to be his people. As a result, many have turned aside to other religions or have just renewed their desire for the world thinking it can’t be any worse. This is not to paint a broad brush, so if it does not apply to your situation, then please don’t take it personal. But, I have known many people who have been turned away and turned off by the very ones who are supposed to be making disciples and helping them grow and mature in Christ.

The Lord impressed upon me a couple of weeks ago that he wanted to write a letter to His lost sheep. Because this was not on my agenda, I brushed it aside. I have attempted to write various messages over this time period and have been unable to complete any of them. Finally, I obeyed. What you will read below is what he had desired for me to say to any and all who will listen. Please read it carefully. It is encouraging, enlightening, and of the utmost importance for the days ahead.


Behold, the sheep of My pasture have gone astray. They have listened to this man and that man and have not heard from Me. The shepherds have struck them and wounded them and they have scattered, if not physically, then spiritually and mentally far away from Me. They have been tossed around like the waves of the sea because they have remained in infancy. They are still being nursed like babies and have not sought Me that they might eat meat like an adult. They are still wandering about in adolescence pretending to be one thing, but in reality are something else entirely.

I have compassion for My lost ones, but if they do not return to Me soon, they will be like the ship that has left sail in the middle of a deadly storm. The lighthouse will not guide them safely to their destination, the stars will not shine and give them light in the midst of their journey. The waves will beat mercilessly upon their ship and will find every imperfection and flood it with water. Desperately, they will cry out, but for many it will be too late. Because they have not sought Me when it was daylight, they will not have strength and wisdom to carry them through the night. Because they made excuses when I called them, they will suffer the repercussions of their unwise decisions. I longed to gather them back into My fold, but they would not come. I have whispered My word in their conscious; deep within their inner being, but they ignored My voice. I have sent them warnings that concur with My written word, but they have brushed them off and shrugged their shoulders. I have shown them that their world is being turned upside down, yet they still will not heed.

The Good Shepherd

The Good Shepherd cares for His flock

However, there are those who have known My voice and there will be others who will awaken to hear Me singing in the night. Do you not know my great love for you? Do you not understand the terrible price that was paid to bring you back to Me? I am the Great Shepherd! I am the one who will leave the ninety-nine and go after the one who has gone astray. I will search high and low, deep and wide for the one who has been struck by the false shepherds and caused them to scatter. I am gathering those who desire to be with Me and hear from Me. My people continue to perish because they have not loved wisdom. It’s wisdom that calls to them to turn their ears away from the foolishness that is being spewed out of the mouths of the wolves in sheep’s clothing. But, because they love their man-made idols they have learned to enjoy being deceived and in turn helping to deceive others. My word and My ways are now a mockery and laughingstock to the world. Many of those who call themselves by My name are truly hated, but not for the right reasons. In this world you will have persecution, My beloved Son told you this. But, you are seeing persecution arise because you have been disobedient which is not to My glory or yours. If you are going to suffer, why let it be for lies and deception and falling away from the faith that was entrusted to you? You will suffer one way or the other, but why not let it be for truth and because you are actually living the life I have called you to?

Why do so many of you love the world so much? Why do you not understand that everything in it is fleeting? Why do you still refuse to recognize that this world has Satan as its prince? Why do you not seek that which is eternal and cannot be shaken? Do you not realize that you have a destiny that goes beyond your earthly desires? Everything you see now is temporary. My kingdom is coming and My will shall be done on this earth as it is in Heaven. Why haven’t you sought me for the daily bread I promised to give? I have food that you know not of, but you are only concerned with that which will feed your body. Your spirits are starving to death. I came to give you life abundantly and you believe this is only about material things. When the world you know begins to take another shape that you do not recognize your material things will be completely irrelevant. The abundant life that I give is for your whole being. There are flies hovering around many of your faces and vultures surrounding your houses because they smell the stench of death emanating from your souls. You have been poisoned both from your own disobedience and by befriending others who walk in the same path.

The time you are living in is truly unlike any other. I desire to protect you from the storms, but you must come to Me that you may have life. Far too many are like sick hospital patients who have left the operating table as surgery had just begun. You would not allow me to remove what was ailing you. You did not allow your open wounds to heal. You determined that you were okay and did not seek a second opinion from Me. I created you and know how to mend what is broken. Won’t you allow your very Creator to fix what I have created? You will endure pain either way, so why not allow me to finish the surgery now, so you can be well equipped to endure the further trials and tribulations that will soon occur?

I am looking to and fro throughout the earth for those willing to return to Me like the prodigal son. He went away and did all the things he desired to do in life. He went to all the places he longed to visit. He listened to all the things he wanted to hear and saw all the things his eyes could behold. He participated in pleasures that filled his heart with joy and scoffed at the simple life and teachings of his father. He spurned the simplicity of his former life and sought the philosophers and great men of his time. But after all the newness and wonderment began to wear off, he realized that all he could find was temporary love, temporary friendship and temporary knowledge. He began to long for what he had walked away from. It took a lot of self-examination and humbling to finally admit to himself he was wrong. As he finally made up his mind to return to his father’s house, he was riddled with guilt and condemnation. Satan beat him up pretty badly and was relentless in accusing him with betrayal, unfaithfulness, and unworthiness. At times the journey back was so difficult he thought of taking his own life. He wondered how his father could ever forgive him. He almost did not make it and would have stopped short had I not given him the strength he needed to complete the journey home. When he finally arrived at his destination, he looked around and everything was the same as he remembered. He briefly reminisced about his rebellious journey and understood that all that is in world is the lust of flesh, the lust of the eyes and the pride of life. He recognized that he could not find what he was looking for in the world because he already had what he needed at home.

His father never stopped looking for him to return. He never gave up hope and continually prayed that I would bring him back. As he stepped outside and saw his son standing in the distance he was overcome with the weight of his emotions and would have fainted from joy. He rushed out to meet his son and ordered his other son to bring the best for him. He was welcomed back with open arms. The reunion of this father and son brought both of them to tears. As they welled up with strong emotion the son finally understood how deep his father’s love was for him. He never experienced that on his journey. He realized how he had taken this love for granted. He also recognized that his father’s forgiveness could not be measured. He had completely misjudged his father, thinking him to be without understanding and compassion. He was willing to be called a servant instead of a son, but his father would have none of it. Instead of him receiving a lashing to confirm his guilt and disobedience, the father joyfully announced the return of his son to everyone within shouting distance. He threw a huge party in honor of his lost son. He had the best meal prepared, brought out the best clothes, and had the finest entertainment he could muster all in honor of his prodigal son. You must not realize that I am waiting to throw a party for you too!

The wise man builds his house high upon the rock of a solid foundation. When the waves rise and beat upon the shores and when the winds blow viciously and without mercy his house endures. When the tide rises and floods the streets the wise man’s home remains unscathed. When the storm is over he goes outside and sees the wreckage of the other homes not built like his. He does not take pride that his house is still standing. Instead, he sees their loss and weeps for them. He desires that they too would have been wise in the construction of their residence. Like this wise man, I too weep over those who are not building wisely. The time is now to have your lamps full of oil. My word is to be a lamp unto your feet and a light unto your path. The times are coming when the darkness will be so intense you will need both. I am separating the wise from the foolish, the wheat from the chaff, the sheep from the goats. Choose wisdom. Listen to My voice and if you have never heard it before, you will need to know that it is a still small voice that you can only hear when you shut out the world and all of its entrapments. I have never stopped speaking. I am alive, not dead. I am the God of the past, present and future. I long to have you truly know Me for who I am, not for how I am misrepresented by the greedy shepherds or the sorely misguided critics who think I am some monster who enjoys sending people to hell.

Taste and see that the Lord is good!

If you love the world then you will not love Me. You cannot serve two masters. You must choose whom you will serve. The time is upon you when you will no longer be able to hide and be lukewarm. You will no longer be able to dabble in the world and return to the safety of my presence. I am looking for a people whose minds are made up and whose hearts are fixed on the eternal prize. I am desiring My people to long for My kingdom to come and not be attached to the kingdoms of men. Many of you are far too comfortable in Babylon. But once that comfort is removed, what will you do? My grace is more than sufficient for you if you will only heed My voice. Forsake your sinful ways and return to Me. I will welcome you back with My arms wide open. I will kiss you on your cheek. I will cleanse you from all your filth. I will heal every wound you have sustained. I will repair your broken heart and give you the peace that has evaded your mind. My love will cover the multitude of your sins. I will give you a sparkling white garment that will blot out your stained clothing of the past. It does not matter to me who you are or what you have done or not done. I do not care if you are poor, wealthy or anything in between. It matters not whether you sweep the streets or sit in the executive boardroom; whether you live in the most remote place in the desert or in a penthouse in the biggest city. I don’t care whether your skin is white, black, yellow or anything in between. I created you all from the dust of the earth and am longing to unite that which has been severed in My kingdom to come. The time is now. Come. Taste and see that I am good. The world is perishing, but my hand is not too short that it cannot save.

This is my letter to you. This is my open invitation to the banquet I have prepared for you since before the foundations of the universe were laid. Will you allow anything to hinder you from attending?


 

I had completed about 80% of this article when out of nowhere there was a power spike. Keep in mind it has not rained or stormed where I live in weeks. Sadly, the only thing that lost power was the computer I typed this message on. I have a surge protector, but it did not work. In frustration I lowered my head on the desk and cried out, “Why, Lord?” I did not receive an answer.

As a graphic designer, I use many computer programs from the Adobe company like Photoshop, Illustrator, and InDesign. They all have document recovery systems that will automatically save your files and bring them back up in case of a power failure. When I write articles, however, I use an old version of Microsoft Word and I didn’t believe it had this feature. To top it off, this computer has an automatic backup system, but it was not turned on. I wrestled in my mind trying to remember all the words the Lord has just given me, but I did not believe I could recapture it as perfectly as it was originally given. I finally decided to turn the computer back on with little hope that my file still existed. To my surprise and joy, when I opened the program, the top of the file read “Document 1, recovered” and there was the file right down to the last paragraph I had written minus only a few words.

To me, this was further illustration of God’s power to save all the prodigal sons and daughters out there who have gone astray. Though technology will fail, God’s promises never do! You can be recovered from among the lost.

As we venture further and further into some of the darkest days of human history, we must not forget that the most important thing is not to watch for signs and become so engulfed that we forget to listen to the sign giver. Our Father has much to say to us if we would take the time to listen. As eager as we may be to understand the events rapidly taking place from a spiritual perspective, we must not become too distracted to simply spend time with God. He desires that our spirits be full of life, love, joy and peace in these adverse times. Not only for ourselves, but that we could also demonstrate this to others.  They need to see our lights shining brightly that they might find rest for their weary souls in a world gone mad.

May God richly bless and deliver all His lost sheep!

For thus saith the Lord GOD; Behold, I, even I, will both search my sheep, and seek them out. As a shepherd seeketh out his flock in the day that he is among his sheep that are scattered; so will I seek out my sheep, and will deliver them out of all places where they have been scattered in the cloudy and dark day. Ezekiel 34:11-12

But when he saw the multitudes, he was moved with compassion on them, because they fainted, and were scattered abroad, as sheep having no shepherd. Matthew 9:36

The thief cometh not, but for to steal, and to kill, and to destroy: I am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly.  I am the good shepherd: the good shepherd giveth his life for the sheep.  But he that is an hireling, and not the shepherd, whose own the sheep are not, seeth the wolf coming, and leaveth the sheep, and fleeth: and the wolf catcheth them, and scattereth the sheep.  The hireling fleeth, because he is an hireling, and careth not for the sheep.  I am the good shepherd, and know my sheep, and am known of mine. John 10:10-14

Comments

  1. escapefromchurchianity says:

    Bless you brother. That could have been written about me only I was ‘in’ ministry and not just in the pew…The hipocracy I witnessed was incredible at the so callled ‘top’. I have left organized religion all together and now just follow Jesus…Thanks much..

    • Thank you for taking the time to read the message. I completely understand where you are coming from and it’s important for us who have left the confines of organized religion to know there are others out there who have done the same. Our Father knows where we are and how to keep us in His perfect will if we will continue to trust him with our lives. May God continue to bless and keep you!

  2. Earl Garretson says:

    Indeed many are leaving denominational Babylon;however, not all of these are having denominationalism taken out of them by Holy Spirit. A remnant elect is being chosen(by Father) to be brought to maturity in Christ. These are journeying through the wilderness not knowing where they go and for the most part not knowing any of their fellow travelers. BUT THE GOOD SHEPHERD KNOWS HIS SHEEP AND THE SHEEP KNOW THE VOICE OF THE SHEPHERD!! Grace be with you.

    • Amen Brother, Amen. The Father is gathering everyone who knows his voice and is rescuing his sheep from the wicked shepherds.

      • Have you ever read any of the prophecies of Ellen G. White? She speaks of the church being misled as well.

      • Yes, I am familiar with Ellen White and while I agree that much of the church is misled, I disagree with many of her teachings. With that said, I’m glad you took the tome to comment. I hope this message will benefit you. We are living in very serious times.

  3. Brother Lorrent

    Your letter from the Lord really touched my heart because I was a sheep that wandered off the straight and narrow path that leads to life. Although I was a believer involved in charismatic Christianity for more than forty years, I was depending more on the teachings of men whom I believed were anointed of God. I had more confidence in these leader’s ability to hear God than my own. Although I knew that certain things were of the flesh, my attitude for years was that the good outweighed the bad (and there were some things that were good and genuine) so I remained a part of that movement for years even as the manifestations became more bizarre.

    The Lord used an experience I had to show me my spiritual condition. I live in South Florida near the Everglades. One Friday night, I got lost in the Everglades because I had taken a wrong turn. I traveled several miles in the wrong direction (I thought I was going North, but was actually going West) before I realized I had taken a detour and lost my bearings. Not only that, but because it was so dark, I inadvertently walked into a swamp and sank in the mud. I pulled myself out and finally got my bearings and found my way home. At the time, I didn’t see any spiritual significance to what had happened to me. I just thought I was an idiot for getting lost.

    I went to church the following Sunday as usual. When the service was over, the Lord supernaturally allowed me to relive my experience in the Everglades. He showed me that I had taken a detour off His straight and narrow path that leads to life. I had made a wrong turn because it was dark and I was not depending on the illumination I that only He could provide by His Spirit and His Word. I was putting more confidence in men and my natural ability to see than I was in Him. He showed me that He had protected even though I had walked into a swamp. I had not been bitten by an alligator, poisonous snake or even a mosquito.

    Even after this dramatic encounter, it took some time for me to really understand the depth of the deception I was involved in. Many charismatics are prideful that they are on the cutting edge of what God is doing. I was no exception.I realized that for years I had been building my house on sand. Deep discouragement followed for quite a while. It was through the message of Ultimate Reconciliation that I began to see Christianity in a positive light. Although God is allowing a strong delusion to be sent into the church as well as the world, He is not doing it for the purpose of destroying men, but ultimately to reconcile and restore all to Himself. Although I regret the wasted years, I believe that God has used my detour for good because I have a greater appreciation for His truth and the simplicity that is in Christ.

    • Brother Charlie,

      Thank you so much for taking the time to comment. Out of all the things I have written about on this site, this is the most important writing of all and your testimony is proof. I am so thankful that your eyes have been opened and that you are back on the right path. God often allows us to experience situations that we don’t recognize the true significance immediately.

      I have also been part of the Charismatic circle and am well aware of what you are referencing. God has never left the business of rescuing his lost sheep. Welcome back to the fold!

      God bless!

Trackbacks

  1. […] hiding out in the most remote places. We serve a Mighty God who is willing and able to care for his sheep and will protect them from every trick of the enemy if they will follow his lead! Share […]

